Welcome to the Fourth Aegean Summer School with title 'Black Holes' Home Page

General Information

Organizing Committee


Scientific Program

Travel and

Map of Lesvos




Upload Page


The Fourth Aegean Summer School is devoted this year to the physics of Black Holes. The main objective of the School is to bring together Physicists from different fields like Astrophysics, High Energy Physics, Relativity and Cosmology and in a relaxed and stimulated atmosphere discuss the nature and the properties of these mysterious objects of our Universe. It is also aimed at introducing postgraduate students and young researchers to this very challenging issue of Astrophysics, Relativity and Cosmology.

Various aspects of the Black Hole physics will be discussed: Black Holes as classical solutions of GR, Astrophysical Black Holes, Black Holes Thermodynamics, Perturbations of Black Holes and their Stability, Higher Dimensional Black Holes, Black Holes in Brane and String Theories, Black Holes and AdS/CFT Correspondence.

The morning sessions will consist of mainly review talks on major topics of the field, while in the afternoon sessions short talks will be given on current research topics.

Those graduate and postgraduate students interested in attending the school are requested to send a short CV and one recommendation letter to the School's Secretary Ms. Fani Siatra, email: fansia @ central . ntua . gr . Financial support will be provided for a limited number of accepted applicants.

The School is organized by the Physics Department of the National Technical University of Athens, and supported by The Physics Department of the University of Tennessee, The Ministry of the Aegean, The Municipality of Mytilene, The Prefecture of Lesvos, Alexander S. Onassis Public Benefit Foundation.





For any problems regarding this site,
please contact webmaster